Board Members


Dr. Kishor Mandaliya


Dr. Kishor Mandaliya is the Chairman of the Board at International Centre for Reproductive Health Kenya.

He holds quintuple appointments as; the Provincial Pathologist, Coast Provincial General Hospital Mombasa; Director, Regional Blood Transfusion Centre Mombasa; Coordinator, Comprehensive Care Clinic (HIV Care Clinic) at Coast Provincial General Hospital Mombasa; Director of Research Laboratories, Coast Provincial General Hospital Mombasa and; Acting Director Science and Research, ICRH Kenya.

He has a Master in Pathology from Royal College of Pathology, United Kingdom and Bachelor Degree in Medicine and Surgery from University of Nairobi, Kenya. Dr. Kishor is a professional member of the Kenya Medical Association, International AIDS Society, Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists, Lab and Blood Safety Committee of the National AIDS Control Program of Kenya and American Association of Blood Banks (AABB).

 He has published over 15 articles in peer-reviewed outlets  and offers research support in Sexual and Reproductive Health.


Prof. Walter Jaoko


Prof. Walter Godfrey Jaoko is the secretary of the Board Member at ICRH Kenya. He is also a Professor at the University of Nairobi, Deputy Programme Director at Kenya AIDS Vaccine Initiative (KAVI), and Adjunct Assistant Professor at University of Alabama.

Prof. Jaoko is an Alumni of the University of Nairobi having completed his PhD in Medical Microbiology and Bachelor Medicine & Surgery at the institution. He obtained his Masters of Tropical Medicine from the University of Liverpool and a Diploma Research Methodology in the University of Copenhagen.

He serves in various numerous boards and expert groups including the Nyanza Reproductive Health Society Board of Governors and the Expert Committee on Clinical Trials Sub-Committee, Pharmacy & Poisons Board, Ministry of Health, Kenya while supervising PhD and Masters students’ research work at the University.

Prof. Jaoko’s prestigious award is the Glynn Williams Prize for his highest performance, Masters of Tropical Medicine degree, 1992/1993.


Dr. Esther Getambu


Prof. Marleen Temmerman

Board Member

Prof. Marleen Temmerman is the founding Director of ICRHK, and a current Board Member.

She is an Obstetrician-Gynecologist by training with a Master’s in Public health, and a PhD from Ghent University.

She is a member of the Maisha Maarifa HIV/SRH Research Hub of the Kenyan National AIDS Control Council (NACC) that works to enhance access to HIV/SRH research and information to stakeholders and decision makers at all levels including the Counties and, a Member of the Kenya National Domestication of the Global AA-HA! Guidance Committee (Adolescent Health), as well as a member of the Beyond-Zero Technical Working Groups.

Her current international affiliations/memberships include: Guttmacher-Lancet Commission on Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights in the post-2015 world; Lancet Standing Commission on Adolescent Health, Scientific Advisory Committee of the EDCTP (European and Developing Countries Trial Partnership), as well as professional bodies, Senior Fellow in the Institute for Global Health Diplomacy in Geneva. UNESCO Chair on Youth Leadership in Science, Health, Gender and Education at the Aga Khan University.

A former Belgian parliament senator, Prof. Marleen is also currently the Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Aga Khan University Hospital and Director of the Center of Excellence in Women and Child Health, Aga Khan University East Africa (Nairobi, Kenya). Prior to that she was the Director of the Department of Reproductive Health and Research (RHR) at the World Health Organization (Geneva, Switzerland). She served as a member of the iERG (independent expert review group), installed by UN Secretary General Ban-Ki Moon, to raise the accountability in the ‘Every Woman, Every Child’ platform to accelerate MDG 4 and 5, and takes pride in being one of the penholders of the UN Global Strategy for Women’s, Children and Adolescents’ Health 2016-2030, launched by the UNSG and partners in September 2015, transitioning from the MDGs to the SDGs.

Prof. Marleen has co-authored over 500 publications and books in the area of women’s health, with a Hirsch index of 80. She has supervised many PhD students in Europe, Africa, Latin-America and China and received several awards and honors for her research and advocacy work. Concurrent Professor Fudan University, Honorary appointments: University of the Western Cape, South-Africa, Free University Brussels, Belgium; National Institute Family Planning Research, China.


Dr. S.K. Sharif

Board Member

Dr. J Othigo

Board Member

Dr. Merry Jennifer Othigo is a Board Member at ICRH Kenya.

She has more than 30 years of experience in Reproductive Health and considerable experience in leading teams at the Coast Provincial General Hospital, Mombasa, Kenya. Her most recent position is Deputy Director of Medical Services, Mombasa County, Kenya.

Dr. Othigo obtained her PhD in Medicine Obstetrics and Gynecology from The Council of Kiev State Advance Training Medical Institute, Kiev, Ukraine. She also holds a Masters’ of Medicine with a specialization in Obstetrics and Gynecology; a BSc Honors Degree in Medicine; and a Diploma in Russian language from the Lvov State Medical Institute, Lvov, Ukraine.

Among her awards is being voted the best Consultant in the Obstetrics and Gynecology Department, January 5, 2003.


Prof. Stanley Luchters

Board Member